Allegory of the Olive Tree | Jacob 5-7 | Come Follow Me


While we won't go into depth on the Allegory of the Olive Tree from Jacob Chapter 5, we thought we could provide you with some helpful tips on how to understand it better. We will break this section up into two parts: the symbols and meanings, and the phases of the Allegory. 

Part 1: The Symbolism

Throughout your reading you will come across many words that actually have symbolic meaning. Here is a list of some of them to help you understand more throughout your study. We will list the following by: SYMBOL = MEANING


Vineyard = The World
Master of the Vineyard = Jesus Christ
Tame Olive Tree = The House of Israel
Wild Olive Tree = Gentiles
Branches = Groups of people
Servants = Prophets and others called to serve
Fruit = Lives of works of people


Part 2: The Phases 
The allegory of the olive trees can be divided into four phases, each representing a particular era in the history of the children of Israel, which the olive trees represent.


Phase 1 - The Apostasy and Scattering of Israel

Jacob 5:3-4: The apostasy of Israel

Jacob 5:4: The Master's love for Israel and need to nourish it.

Jacob 5:4-14: Israel is scattered and Gentile are admitted into the Kingdom


Phase 2: Mixed Results Throughout the World

Jacob 5:15-18: Gentiles invigorate the original Church

Jacob 5:19-25: Scattered Israel produces mixed results`


Phase 3: Worldwide Apostasy

Jacob 5:29-32, 37-42: Worldwide Apostasy of Israel

Jacob 5:47: The Master's Sorry


Phase 4: The Restoration of Israel and the Church

Jacob 5:49-64: The Restoration of the Church and the gathering of the children of Israel

Jacob 5:61, 70: New Prophets and Apostles

Jacob 5:71-75: Final Success


For more in depth study on the Allegory of the Olive Tree, read the book "Making Precious Things Plain" currently on sale!