Three Cedar Fort novels named 2013 Whitney Award finalists

Whitney logoOf the 19 Cedar Fort novels nominated for a 2013 Whitney Award, three have been named finalists.

In the Historical category, Carla Kelly’s “Safe Passage” and Phyllis Gunderson’s “The Mounds Anomaly” have earned nods, while Sarah Dunster’s “Mile 21” is one of five finalists in the General category.

The Whitney judging panel will complete its voting process by April 13, 2014, and the winners will be announced at the Whitney Awards Gala on Saturday, April 26, at 7 p.m. at the Davis Convention Center in Layton, Utah. Tickets for the event are $35 per person.

“Safe Passage” and “Mile 21” were published on the Bonneville Books imprint and “The Mounds Anomaly” was printed on the Sweetwater Books imprint.

Mile 21_2x3“Mile 21” by Sarah Dunster

The singles ward is the last place Abish wants to be. But after the unexpected death of her husband (and after being kicked out of her mom’s place), she has to move into single-student housing to finish up her schooling. Maybe training for a marathon and winning the heart of the handsome executive secretary are exactly what Abish needs to get a personal best.

“Safe Passage” by Carla KellySafe Passage_2x3

It’s 1912, the beginning of the Mexican Revolution—and the Mormon colonists must flee to the United States. When his estranged wife is mistakenly left behind, Ammon Hancock goes back to rescue her. But when he finds her, he must coax her to follow him to safety… and maybe even love him again. This revolution could be the very thing that ends their war of hearts.

Mounds Anomaly 2x3

“The Mounds Anomaly” by Phyllis Gunderson

An ancient gold coin, a mysterious American Indian burial ground, and a Colorado canyon all have something in common—and brilliant archaeologist Mathilda Howard holds the key to solving the puzzle. Warned to keep quiet or lose her job, Mathilda risks her life to expose the truth that could change the entire history of the world in this fascinating mystery.